She Code Africa Mentorship Program Cohort 4; My Journey in summary

Ibukun Ogunnaike
2 min readMay 20, 2021

--

I’m having feelings of nostalgia as I write. I want to firstly use this medium to appreciate the organizers of SHE CODE AFRICA for this initiative. I have become better for it indeed. I came in to this mentorship program to learn as much as I could, but I learnt more than I bargained for.

From the first week when our mentor, Countess , taught on soft skills needed in the tech industry, up until some minutes ago, when she gave feedback on my codes, I must say that I have really learnt a lot in the short space of time.

I also learnt a few lessons which I will like to share;

1. TEAMWORK

Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

During the 3-months program, I learnt how to work with people better. Our mentor, put us into groups and we had to brainstorm on how to learn new tools and apply them in solving challenges. I learnt Tableau by working in a team. You can find the result to the analysis we did here.

2. CONFIDENCE IN YOURSELF

Picture by Pixabay

Thinking about this particular lesson, I get to laugh at myself, because, I had to learn it the hard way, kind of. I came in to the program with a lot of doubt in my self and in my skills. I had to choose to speak out, be confident in what i am and what I’ve worked on. The feedback I got also helped me. I also had to make up my mind to focus on my journey, to consciously make up my mind to get better by the day. This leads to my last but not the least lesson

3. LIFE LONG LEARNING

As I round up this program, I have determined in my mind to continue learning. I have definitely learnt a lot at SCA, but I still have along way to go and I‘m determined to keep learning.

Thanks so much SCA. This girl is super grateful!!

--

--

Ibukun Ogunnaike

Data + Product + Community. A beautiful blend of the first two